ADELAIDE UNIVERSITY
THEATRE GUILD

"Morning Sacrifice"

AT THE HUT Thursday, 23rd November Friday, 24th November 1944

THE PLAY AND THE AUTHORESS.

The THEATRE GUILD Committee is anxious to continue its policy of presenting at least one Australian play each year. The present production, "Morning Sacrifice", is a prize winning play by an Australian-born authoress. These are two good reasons for its presentation, but there are others. The writing of the play itself ably presents the detail of its general subject; it contains worth-while ideas; it has some excellent samples of what is practically called "good theatre." The cast is a completely feminine one—not an easy medium with which to make a successful and satisfying full length play. In this work it has been accomplished.

This play was first presented at the Repertory Theatre in Perth, on 8th October, 1942, during the Western Australian Drama Festival of that year.

The writer, Dymphna Cusack, was born at Wyalong Goldfields; she was educated in New South Wales and took an Arts course at the Sydney University. She has been writing since the age of twelve, and many of her short stories have been published in London and Australia.

In recent years Dymphna Cusack has directed her attention seriously to play writing. In 1936 she won the Anzac Fellowship Prize for her play "Anniversary." Her first three-act play, "Red Sky at Morning", has been widely produced and also filmed. In 1942 she won the Western Australian Drama Festival Prize with "Morning Sacrifice"; and the same award again in 1943 with another play, "Comets Soon Pass."

Her published novels include "Jungfrau" and, in co-authorship with Miles Franklin, "Pioneers on Parade."

"Morning Sacrifice"

The scene of the play is the Staff Room of "Easthaven" Girls' High School. The action takes place as follows:

Act I—Scene I: Monday, 8.45 a.m.

Act II-Scene I: Monday, 11 a.m.

Scene II: Monday, 1.10 p.m.

Act III-Scene I: Monday, 3.35 p.m.

Scene II: Thursday, 8.50 a.m.

"Morning Sacrifice"

Under the direction of THELMA BAULDERSTONE

The characters as they present themselves are:

Miss	CHARLOTTE BATES		MARGARET WARD
Miss	PORTIA KINGSBURY	(Deputy	Headmistress) FLORENCE BROWN
Miss	MARGARET SOLE	-	- HAYETTE MINTHER
Miss	SHEILA RAY -		- SYLVIA BLAKEWAY
Miss	ROSE HAMMOND	-	- MAVIS McNAMARA
Mrs.	MACNEIL	-	- IRIS THOMAS
Miss	DORA PEARL -		JESS DAVIS
Miss	GWYN CARWITHEN	- 1	ENID BROWN
Miss	WOODS (Headmistress)		JESS LYNE

Mistresses at "Easthaven"

Setting		- MIC	HAEL	JAMES
Lighting -	-	TH	OMAS	KEEN
Stage Management	-	WATSON	PENG	ELLEY
Mechanist -		T.	VOGE	LSANG
Electrician -	-]	HERBERT	KOLL	OSCHE

Our thanks to Miss Beth Haese and the Girls Choir from Adelaide High School for providing the singing.

UNIVERSITY THEATRE GUILD

Patrons:

Professors E. Harold Davies, J. I. M. Stewart, and J. G. Cornell
Dr. Charles Fenner and Mr. Frank Johnston.

Committee:

Dr. T. D. Campbell Mr. Sydney A. Downie Mr. Brian Elliott Miss Patricia Hackett Miss Barbara Howard Mr. Leo Howard Mr. Herbert Kollosche Mr. Roy Leaney Dr. E. McLaughlin
Miss Mignon Michell
Miss Janet Paine
Mr. Allan Sierp
Miss C. Teasdale Smith
Miss Gwen Walsh
Mr. Bruce Williams
Mrs. Roma Williams

Communications and enquiries may be addressed to the Hon. Secretary and subscriptions sent to the Hon. Treasurer, care University. Subscriptions may also be paid on the evenings of performances.

The Theatre Guild Committee expresses its appreciation to the Playwrights' Advisory Board for its kindly consideration in the matter of performing rights of the Australian plays, which are controlled by the Playwrights' Advisory Board.